We are…

… a young company providing our customers with agile development of innovative approaches regarding wireless sensors and scalable web technologies. essentim is delivering hard- and software for the Internet of Things in professional applications.

Like-minded professionals with experience in digital electronics, material sciences, product development and IT. Since several years the team has been successful in delivering solutions for medical and laboratory technology meeting the high standards of quality. essentim lab will not only simplify, but revolutionise process documentation in biotechnology on a laboratory and industrial scale.

Our team

Matthias Schuh

m: matthias.schuh@essentim.com
t: 089 / 999 50695

Matthias Schuh graduated in Mechanical Engineering at the Technical  University Munich. As a research associate at the chair of Medical Engineering he focused on innovative approaches to improve the incubation process of biological systems. Besides he has applied knowledge in polymer and production engineering.

Matthias Schuh manages the Business Development of essentim. He is responsible for partner and customer relations and attunes our products to production requirements.

Florian Pichler

m: florian.pichler@essentim.com
t: 089 / 999 50696

Florian Pichler is an electronics and mechanical engineer with a core competence in medical engineering. He has a lot of experience in devising sensor-based systems to improve processes in laboratory, medical and general industrial applications

Florian Pichler manages the product development of essentim. He is responsible for electronics development and production. He advocates and establishes an attractive and functional product design.

Bruno Schliersmair

m: bruno.schliersmair@essentim.com

Bruno Schliersmair graduated in informatics. His area of expertise are semantic networks and interactive web applications. In close cooperation with the user he develops clear and functional interfaces for optimised user experience.

Bruno Schliersmair supervises the development of our apps and user interfaces. He is responsible for providing a safe and regulatory conform storage of the customer data.

Jan Schmidle

m: jan.schmidle@essentim.com

Jan Schmidle graduated in informatics. His core competence are scalable web technologies, like performant backend systems and distributed architectures. He provides future-oriented solutions with a sight of the bigger picture.

Jan Schmidle supervises the development of our backend and APIs – one of the main technologies under the bonnet.

essentim GmbH

The foundation of essentim was late back in 2013. Matthias Schuh and Florian Pichler met at the Technical University of Munich working on the task of improving incubation technologies in biological laboratories. Trying to optimise the process conditions, both founders realised that exact measurements are required to verify whether an improvement has been achieved.

Initial measurements taken at the point of interest – the culture dish – they realised that this approach should be introduced as a standard of cell and biotechnologies.  Thereby highly improving the value creation in industrial production and research and development through the increase in process transparency and the reduction in document effort.

In 2015 they applied for the EXIST-Gründerstipendium (startup grant) which supported the development and market entry of essentim lab system.   They were joined by Bruno Schliersmair and Jan Schmidle who added core competence in web-based software technologies.

To the present day the focus of essentim is on the development of systems to improve and simplify laboratory work of today and tomorrow.

Florian Pichler, Matthias Schuh, Bruno Schliersmair und Jan Schmidle

The idea to essentim lab was conceived

First prototype

Research & development focusing on optimising incubation conditions

Improvement of prototypes

Filing of  EXIST start-up grant

Start of EXIST start-up grant

Development of the online-platform

New team members join

Finalisation of the first product line

First customers profit from essentim lab

Wir sind…

… ein junges Unternehmen, das seine Stärken in der schnellen Entwicklung neuartiger Lösungen in den Bereichen der kabellosen Sensorik und skalierbaren Web-Technologien sieht – dem Internet der Dinge für professionelle Anwendungsbereiche. Von der Hardware bis hin zur Software deckt essentim den gesamten Bereich der Entwicklung ab.

Das Team besteht aus Profis aus den Bereichen der digitalen Elektronik, der Materialwissenschaften, der Produktentwicklung und der IT. Wir arbeiten seit mehreren Jahren erfolgreich zusammen und realisieren bis heute vor allem Lösungen für Medizin und Labor. Die hohen Anforderungen an die Qualität von Materialien, Hardware und Software sind nur durch das hervorragend interdisziplinär aufgestellte Team zu bewältigen. Mit dem Produkt essentim lab wollen wir die Prozessdokumentation in Labor und Biotechnologie nicht nur erleichtern, sondern revolutionieren.

Unser Team stellt sich vor

Matthias Schuh

m: matthias.schuh@essentim.com
t: 089 / 999 50695

Matthias Schuh studierte Maschinenbau an der Technischen Universität München. Als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Medizintechnik arbeitete er an innovativen Ansätzen zur Verbesserung der Prozessführung bei Inkubationsvorgängen biologischer Systeme. Zusätzlich verfügt er über angewandtes Wissen in der Kunststoff- und Fertigungstechnik.

Matthias Schuh leitet die geschäftliche Entwicklung von essentim, pflegt den Kontakt zu unseren Partnern und Kunden und ist für die produktionsgerechte Optimierung unserer Produkte verantwortlich.

Florian Pichler

m: florian.pichler@essentim.com
t: 089 / 999 50696

Florian Pichler ist Elektronik- und Maschinenbauingenieur mit Schwerpunkt Medizintechnik. In den letzten Jahren arbeitete er an sensorgestützten Systemen zur Verbesserung der Arbeit im Labor, der Medizin und anderen Bereichen.

Florian Pichler leitet die Produktentwicklung von essentim. Er verantwortet die Elektronikentwicklung und -produktion und setzt sich für ein ansprechendes und funktionales Produktdesign ein.

Bruno Schliersmair

m: bruno.schliersmair@essentim.com

Bruno Schliersmair studierte Informatik. Sein Spezialgebiet ist die Entwicklung semantischer Netze und interaktiver Webapplikationen. In enger Abstimmung mit dem Benutzer entwickelt er klare und funktionale Interfaces für maximalen Bedienkomfort.

Bruno Schliersmair leitet die Entwicklung unserer Apps und Benutzerschnittstellen und sorgt für eine sichere und richtliniengerechte Ablage der Kundendaten.

Jan Schmidle

m: jan.schmidle@essentim.com

Jan Schmidle studierte Informatik. Sein Fachgebiet sind die skalierbaren Webtechnologien. Performante Backendsysteme und verteilte Architekturen gehören zu seinem Spezialgebiet, so entwickelt er stets zukunftsorientierte Lösungen mit dem Blick aufs große Ganze.

Jan Schmidle leitet die Entwicklung unseres Backends und der APIs – also all jene Dinge, die wichtig, jedoch auf den ersten Blick nicht sichtbar sind.

Das Unternehmen

Die Geschichte des Unternehmens beginnt 2013. Matthias Schuh und Florian Pichler lernen sich an der TU München kennen und befassen sich intensiv mit den Inkubationsbedingungen in biologischen Laboren. Beim Versuch, eine Optimierung der Prozessbedingungen herbeizuführen, wird den beiden Gründern eines klar: Genaue Messungen sind erforderlich, um herauszufinden, ob eine Verbesserung erzielt wurde.
Durch erste Messungen am Point of Interest kam den Gründern die Idee, dies zum gängigen Standard in der Zell- und Biotechnologie zu machen und dadurch in Produktion und Forschung die Wertschöpfung erheblich zu verbessern – verbunden mit weniger Aufwand für Dokumentation, Qualitätssicherung und erhöhter Transparenz.

Im Sommer 2015 beantragen Schuh und Pichler ein EXIST-Gründerstipendium, welches ab Oktober 2015 die Entwicklung und Markteinführung des essentim lab-Systems möglich gemacht hat. Um diese Zeit stießen Bruno Schliersmair und Jan Schmidle  zum Team. Dadurch erweiterte sich essentim um wichtige Kernkompetenzen aus dem Bereich der webbasierten Software-Technologien.

Bis zum heutigen Tage liegt der Fokus von essentim auf der Entwicklung von Systemen zur Verbesserung und Vereinfachung der Arbeit im Labor von heute und morgen. Neben der Labortechnik forciert das Team derzeit den Eintritt in weitere Märkte wie der Maschinen- und Transportüberwachung, Lagerüberwachung und die Maker-Szene, denn qualitativ hochwertige Sensoren werden überall gebraucht.

Florian Pichler, Matthias Schuh, Bruno Schliersmair und Jan Schmidle

Entstehung der Produktidee zu essentim lab

Erste Prototypen

Intensive Grundlagenforschung im Bereich Inkubationsbedingungen

Verbesserung der Prototypen

Beantragung EXIST Gründerstipendium

Start EXIST Gründersipendium

Entwicklung der Online-Plattform

Erweiterung des Gründerteams

Finalisierung der ersten Produktreihe

Erste Kunden